NFC Championship Game: Betting Line History

Football Jan 20, 2021

NFC Championship Betting

The NFC Championship is one of two title games played on an annual basis in the National Football League (NFL), which is America’s top professional football league. The top two teams from National Football Conference (NFC) will meet in late January at the venue of the highest seed.

The NFL Playoffs begin with 12 teams, six from the NFC and six from the American Football Conference (AFC). The winner of those NFC and AFC Championship games will meet in the Super Bowl, which is played a neutral venue every season. The 2020 finale will take place at Hard Rock Stadium from Miami Gardens, Florida on Feb. 2, 2020.

Homefield Edge in NFC Championship

Since the NFC Championship began in 1970, home teams have posted a 33-17 record in the title game.

In the last 10 years, visitors have shown more fight in this title game as the home team was only able to produce a 6-4 record in the NFC Championship. Those last four wins by the road teams weren't easy as the victories came by seven points or less and three were decided by exactly three points.

Of the 16 NFC franchises, the Dallas Cowboys have won the most conference titles with 8. The franchise often known as "America's Team" in the United States has gone 4-1 at home and 4-5 on the road but the last NFC Championship for the popular club came in 1995.

The San Francisco 49ers have won six NFC titles and this team also holds the record for most losses in the conference title game with nine. Right behind the club from California is the Washington Redskins and New York Giants, who have each captured five NFC Championships in their franchise history.

Since this format began in 1970, 15 of the current 16 NFC teams have earned a trip to the Super Bowl. The lone franchise not to capture a NFC Championship is the Detroit Lions.

NFC Championship Betting Results

In the first 20 games of the NFC Championship, favorites have gone 33-17 straight up and 27-22-1 against the spread.

There have been six games in the NFC Championship where the favorite has won but failed to cover the closing point-spread.

2015 - Seattle (-8.5) 28 Green Bay 22 (OT)
2010 - New Orleans (-4) 31 Minnesota 28 (OT)
2000 - St. Louis (-14.5) 11 Tampa Bay 6
1984 - Washington (-10.5) 24 San Francisco 21
1982 - San Francisco (-3) 28 Dallas 27
1975 - Minnesota (-4) 14 L.A. Rams 10

Two of the above NFC Championship games where the point-spread mattered also went to overtime (OT) and the home team both won those matches. We have seen six NFC title games go to overtime and the road team has gone 4-2 overall.

The 2018-19 NFC Championship was one of the title games that was tied after regulation. In that outcome, the Los Angeles Rams defeated the New Orleans Saints 26-23 from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in Louisiana.

NFC Championship Over/Under Results

Since the 1987-88 NFC Championship game, the 'over' has gone 19-14 in the title game. Over the last six seasons, the 'over' is on a 5-1 run in this conference title game.

There have been five totals in NFC Championship betting history that have closed at 50 points or higher and the attacks lived up to the expectations as the 'over' has gone 4-1. The most recent NFC edition between the Rams and Saints was one of those contests and that game stayed 'under' the total. Even though that game saw an extra session (OT), total bettors have seen the 'over' go 4-2 in the six NFC Championships that went to overtime.

NFC Championship Line History

The NFC Championship betting history covers the first 50 matchups of the conference finale, focusing on the two teams, the betting lines, the final score and the sports betting result which lists the favorite-underdog outcome and the ‘over-under’ result for the majority of the games.

Note:  From