Pointspreads Newsletter: What to Watch and Best to Bet [June 30-August 2]

Other Jul 30, 2020

WEEKLY NEWSLETTER [JULY 30th]

We’re almost there folks.

NHL

The NHL will resume this coming weekend. August 1st, not a time we’re used to hockey, we’re back in action with five games on Saturday. Being we’re only playing these games in Edmonton and Toronto, the times that the games start are staggered :

New York Rangers v Carolina Hurricanes  9 am PDT/12 pm EDT
Chicago Blackhawks v Edmonton Oilers 12 pm PDT/3 pm EDT
Florida Panthers v New York Islanders 1 pm PDT/4 pm EDT
Montreal Canadiens v Pittsburgh Penguins 5 pm PDT/8 pm EDT
Winnipeg Jets v Calgary Flames 7:30 pm PDT/10:30 pm EDT

Then play-in round continues on Sunday, August 2:

Phoenix Coyotes v Nashville Predators 11 am PDT/2 pm EDT
Philadelphia Flyers v Boston Bruins 12 pm PDT/3 pm EDT
St. Louis Blues v Colorado Avalanche 3:30 pm PDT/6:30 pm EDT
Columbus Blue Jackets v Toronto Maple Leafs 5 pm PDT/8 pm EDT
Minnesota Wild v Vancouver Canucks 7:30 pm PDT/10:30 pm EDT

Here’s a look at the current lines, at the time of this writing.

Vancouver Canucks -1.5 looks like an enticing bet at 3.00 for the Western match up on Sunday, and for the Maple Leafs v Blue Jackets I like the under 6 with the chance to push if it hits that mark. 6 in a playoff-type scenario seems to be a high number to me. Take the under at 1.84 odds.

After this weekend’s action there are six NHL games per day, each day, scheduled through until Sunday the 9th. We’ll see how many games are required to satisfy the playoff bracket’s creation of 16.

NBA

Basketball started July 30th and this weekend’s action has five games Saturday and six for Sunday. Most notably, the Raptors take on LeBron and the LA Lakers at 5:30 pm PDT/8 pm EDT.

I like the Raptors with the spread here, getting 1.88 odds with the 4 points.

PGA Golf

Canadian Nick Taylor, who already has a win under his belt at the Pebble Beach Pro Am will be in the field in Memphis has some good looking odds at the time of this writing, as does fellow Canadian MacKenzie Hughes.

A fun bet when you get these high odds and get the action down before the start of the golf tournament on Thursday is to take the players ‘each way.’ This is the EW tick box you see beside the amount on the bet slip. What this does is place a wager in the amount you specify for the player to win, but it also places a wager of the same amount for the player to finish in the top few spots. The number of spots that will pay out on the EW is dependent on how many people are in the tournament. So if you bet on Saturday after the cut, you’ll only get the first 2 or 3 positions paid, but if you do it Thursday it could pay out if your player hits the board in the top 6 or even 7 spots. EW pays out 20% of the player’s win odds. It’s a lot of fun this bet as you sweat for your player to be on that first page of the leaderboard if not the top spot. Give it a try!

Major League Baseball

Well this one is a big if at this point after players from around the league are testing positive for Covid 19. As it stands, the Blue Jays are in action vs Philadelphia on Saturday and Sunday, but check in to spreads.ca before the weekend to see the expected pitching match up, and if indeed the games are still scheduled, considering.

Good luck to everyone this weekend in whatever bets you make!

__________