Blue Bombers Win 2021 Grey Cup

Oh-Canada Dec 12, 2021

Winnipeg Scores 15 Late Points, Stages Wild 4th-Quarter Comeback, Forces Overtime, and Wins 12th Franchise CFL Championship

What a game!  What a season!

In one of the most exciting CFL championship games ever, the Winnipeg Blue Bombers went into Hamilton, Ontario and staged one of the most remarkable comebacks in Grey Cup history, winning in overtime 33-25.

Interception in OT gives Blue Bombers the trophy!

Zach Collaros' TD Pass in OT Gives Winnipeg Second Consecutive Grey Cup Title

From The Sporting News:

Winnipeg waited 750 days and an extra period but the Blue Bombers repeated as Grey Cup champions on Sunday, beating Hamilton 33-25 in a home game for the Tiger Cats.

With the overtime win, the Blue Bombers repeated as Grey Cup champions, something which hadn't been done since 2009-10 when Montreal won it in back-to-back years. It was only the fourth Grey Cup final to go to overtime, including the first since 2016.

After throwing two interceptions in the third quarter and after struggling in the red zone all night, the CFL's Most Outsanding Player, Winnipeg QB Zach Collaros hit Darvin Adams wide open in the end zone and then cashed in on the 2-point conversion to give Winnipeg the win. Collaros finished the day 21-of-32 for 240 yards and two touchdowns and interceptions apiece.

The CFL's leading receiver, Kenny Lawler, was held in check for Winnipeg, hauling in just three catches for 41 yards as Collaros spread the ball around and hit six different receivers over the course of the game.

The Blue Bombers' defense also came up clutch, intercepting Hamilton's Jeremiah Masoli on the final play of the game in overtime to seal it for Winnipeg. Massoli came in in relief of Hamilton starter Dane Evans, who went 4-of-9 with an interception before leaving the game with an injury in the first half.

Massoli finished the day going 20-of-25 for 185 yards and two touchdowns through the air, while adding another 35 yards on the ground. The Tiger-Cats ran for 107 yards while Winnipeg ran for just 79.

The win for Winnipeg gives the Blue Bombers their 12th Grey Cup title in franchise history and marked their 26th appearance in the Grey Cup, the most of any CFL franchise.